Did you miss any of our events? Are you interested in the most interesting information from our events? Now you will not miss anything important.


22. 10. 2019

On 10 September 2019, von der Leyen introduced the design structure of the body and the distribution of the portfolios to 27 Commissioners.[1]

The European Commission for the five-year period 2019-2024 has 27 members, consisting of one President (Ursula von der Leyen), three Executive Vice-Presidents (Frans Timmermans, Margrethe Vestager, Valdis Dombrovskis), five other Vice-Presidents including the High Representative for Common Foreign and Security Policy (Josep Borrel), and 18 other Commissioners. Thanks to coordination between von der Leyen and the Member States she delivered a gender-balanced College made up of 13 women and 14 men.

The Vice-Presidents will coordinate the work on the most important cross-cutting issues to meet the policy priorities. The three Executive Vice-Presidents will hold a dual function. Not only will they coordinate a horizontal agenda, to allow for transparency in all the portfolios, i.e. in finance, climate, or digital, but they will also have a specific portfolio and a relevant Directorate-General (DG) at their disposal. The rest of the five Vice-Presidents will only use the capacities of the DGs of other Commissioners. Commissioner-designate Johannes Hahn will be in charge of ‘Budget and Administration’ and will report directly to the President of the Commission.

[1] In comparison to the Junckers’ Commission 2019, there is one Commissioner less as the United Kingdom leaving the Union did not nominate its candidate in prospects of Brexit.

Policy Paper – Kristina Hrbková, October 2019

Full text in PDF under the link bellow.

Download PDF